top of page

You Could Hear by Daniel Melin

Updated: Feb 27, 2021

I had a dream about you,

Even though we’ve never met.

The things you whispered in my ear,

I hope I never forget.

They say that I should be

On my way to some form of solidarity.

But I don’t want to hear their words,

Cause when I’m dreaming, nothing hurts,

And I can feel your heart like we’ve been friends for years,

And the wars I’ve fought completely disappear.

You’re the sun that shines on all my fears.

Now if only, when I call your name, you could hear.

You could hear… You could hear.


When I come to you and say I broke my watch,

You seem to have a problem with yours too.

You just walk away and leave me here to rust

In shades of red and brown, even blue.

But I guess I’ll just turn the other way,

Cause it’s easier to pretend nothing ever happened that day.

Though I could know your heart sensed that I was near

To letting go, yet another tear.

All on your own, you finally built up my fear,

That when I called your name, you could hear.

You could hear… You could hear.


When I fell for you, I wanted you to pull me close beside

And look at me with your piercing gaze, with those big blue eyes,

To part your lips, I want to kiss, and tell me my favorite lie.

If only you’d forget yourself, and say that you could hear.

You could hear… You could hear.





Comentarios


bottom of page